Home > About QEIIMC > QEIIMC Trust Board Members

QEIIMC Trust Board Members

As set out in the Queen Elizabeth II Medical Centre Act 1966, the QEIIMC Trust Board consists of five members.

  • The Chairman is appointed by the Governor on written nomination of the Minister and The University of Western Australia senate, to hold office during the Governor’s pleasure
  • Two members are appointed by the Governor on the written nomination of the Minister to hold office during the Governors pleasure.
  • Two members are appointed by The University of Western Australia Senate to office during its pleasure.

QEIIMC Trust Board Members

Mr Steven Cole (Chairman)

Appointed Chairman in November 2008. Mr Cole has over 35 years of professional, corporate and business experience through senior legal consultancy, as well a range of executive management and non executive appointments.

He is currently the Chairman of Brightwater Care Group Inc, Deputy Chairman of ASX listed Reed Resources Limited and board member of a number of other corporations and corporate trusts.


Professor Peter Davies (Deputy Chairman)

Appointed as a member in March 2016 and is also the Deputy Chairman. Professor Davies is the Pro-Vice Chancellor of Research at the University of Western Australia. 

Professor Davies has attended four of a possible nine board meetings throughout the year.  – As at 1 July 2016.

Professor Davies is also the Chair of the QEII Medical Centre Trust Audit and Risk Management Sub Committee and has attended all three committee meetings throughout the year. 


Ms Angela Kelly

Appointed as a member in August 2015.  Ms Kelly was recently appointed to the role of Assistant Director General, Purchasing and System Performance in the Department of Health. The role involves strategic leadership and overseeing the purchasing of services from Health Service providers, whilst acting as the key interface between the System Manager and the Health Services and Statutory Health Organisations.

Ms Kelly’s extensive management and senior leadership roles in health over the last 20 years include Director, Program Integration for the Fiona Stanley Hospital Taskforce, Director of the Health Infrastructure Unit and Executive Director Resource and Performance.

Ms Kelly is also the delegated nominee of the Director General, Department of Health for the Department of Planning’s Infrastructure Coordinating Committee.

Professor Wendy Erber

Professor Erber graduated in Medicine with 1st class honours from the University of Sydney. She undertook her Haematology training at the Royal North Shore Hospital of Sydney and the University of Oxford (as a Rhodes Scholar).  In Oxford her research led to Doctorate of Philosophy.  She has held Consultant Haematologist posts in Western Australia and in Cambridge, UK.  Professor Erber took up her current appointment as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences in December 2015.

Throughout her professional career Professor Erber’s major interests have been the adoption of new cutting-edge technologies, translating these into diagnostic pathology practice, especially in the field of haematological malignancies.  

Professor Erber continues to have extensive undergraduate teaching responsibilities, (including a Unit coordinator to 300 students between 2011–2015) as well as lecturing and tutoring for MBBS, MD and BSc programmes.  She is committed to a programme of pedagogical change and development of a new e-learning approach to teaching.


Retired Board Members

Mr Wayne Salvage

Appointed as a member in October 2009. Mr Salvage is currently the Acting Chief Executive for the North Metropolitan Health Service, and previously the Executive Director of Resource Strategy in the Department of Health. The role involves managing resource acquisition and internal resource allocation within WA Health, coordination of infrastructure, and the provision of a range of corporate services, including legal services, corporate governance and communications.

Prior to this current role Mr Salvage has held a number of senior positions within the Department of Health.

Mr Salvage retired from the Trust in December 2016.


Ms Gaye McMath 

Appointed as a member in January 2005 and acted as the Deputy Chairman. Ms McMath is the Executive Director, Finance and Resources at The University of Western Australia.

Ms McMath is a Fellow of CPA Australia and Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is currently a Director of Western Australia Treasury Corporation and Gold Corporation. 

Ms McMath retired from the Trust in January 2016.


Professor John Newnham, AM

Appointed as a member in January 2015. John Newnham is Professor of Obstetrics at The University of Western Australia (UWA) and is a sub-specialist in Maternal Fetal Medicine. He is Head of the UWA School of Women’s and Infants’ Health based at King Edward Memorial Hospital; Deputy Dean of the UWA Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences; and Executive Director of the Women and Infants Research Foundation. He is also an Adjunct Professor at Peking University, Beijing, and Honorary Director of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the Drum Tower Hospital, Nanjing, China.

Professor Newnham AM retired from the Trust in January 2016.


Mr Ian Anderson

Appointed as a member in May 2006. Mr Anderson is the Chief Executive Officer for St John of God, Midland Public and Private Hospitals.

Mr Anderson’s previous positions include Director Capital Management and Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Services both for North Metropolitan Area Health Services, Chairman of Response Health Ltd, Director of Leadership WA, General Manager (Performance Consulting) with Gerard Daniels Australia and Chief Executive Officer of SKG Radiology.

Mr Anderson retired from the Trust in January 2015.

Professor Ian Puddey

Appointed as a member in January 2005. Professor Ian Puddey is the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences and the University of Western Australia.

Professor Puddey is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, and member of the High Blood Pressure Research Council of Australia, Australian Medical Association and International Society for Hypertension.

Professor Puddey retired from the Trust in December 2014.












Page last updated:  07/02/17

  • Important changes to phone numbers at QEIIMC

    As of Saturday 6 August 2016, most phone and fax numbers at the QEIIMC Campus have changed.  Follow the links below for more information:




  • TravelSmart

    Why not look after your health on the way to the QEIIMC? For all your cycling maps, bicycle parking facilities and route planning contact (08) 6457 4085.

  • TravelSmart

    Visit the TravelSmart Junction in E Block to find alternative ways to travel to the QEIIMC, or contact the TravelSmart team on (08) 6457 4085.

  • Become a Buggy Driver

    Would you like to become a volunteer QEIIMC Buggy Driver? Contact the volunteer co-ordinator for more information on (08) 6457 4085.



Skip to Main Content
Accessibility | Sitemap | Contact us


Search whole of WA government



Home | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright | About Us | Site Map

All contents copyright Government Western Australia. All rights reserved.